A Wonderful Life

Three-and-a-half years ago I was driving around one sunny afternoon, trying to process a great many emotions as I dealt with the loss of a good friend. My radio was on, but I wasn’t paying much attention to the random CD that just happened to be playing. Then this song came on and without warning its chorus hit me like a ton of bricks. To this day I can’t hear it without thinking of that moment and that man.

It popped up my iPod this morning and for a moment brought my day to a halt. It is not the only thing that reminds of Hugh, but it is one, and in those moments when it does I find myself reflecting not only on his life, but on my own. I pledged to myself in the aftermath of his passing that I would never take life for granted again, and while it hasn’t always been perfect, my life these past three-and-a-half years has been better than it had ever been before. I am surrounded by many blessings: loving family, loyal friends, and the love of a woman the likes of which I never knew was possible. I have good health, a steady job, and the time and opportunities to pursue things that entertain and interest me. I can’t imagine having it any better.

In this political season marred by ignorance and anger, where the well-being of our country is in a very precarious position, I find I am happy. I’m still striving to be and do better – to ‪#‎BeLikeHugh‬ – but as the song reminded me, I have a wonderful life. Thank you for being part of it.‬

Leave a Reply

