Starfield – The Kingdom

STARFIELD – THE KINGDOM

Released on January 31, 2012 by Tone Tree Music

 

thekingdom

 

I’m not supposed to like this kind of overtly Christian rock because the subject of religion is simply not my cup of tea, and Starfield doesn’t hold back, the lyrics really driving their focus home. Generally when I listen to an album for the first time the lyrics aren’t my focus, as I’m just trying to absorb the music and the overall feel of the band. But with The Kingdom, I couldn’t avoid it, the words just rising above to make me notice. And yet in the end I’m totally okay with, in large part because the actual religious terms are kept to a minimum, leaving the songs to tell tales of redemption and hope without making me feel like I’m being converted. Plus the music and vocals really work for me, falling in line with Anberlin, another proto-Christian band I’ve recently learned to love. High in dynamic, the songs rise and fall, soaring at times to another plain, yet also bringing moments of intensity and power (albeit somewhat thin). Takes the music of someone like Trapt and tries to do something useful with it. Could rise to a nine if I give it enough listens and really start to get behind the songs.

 

PRO-2, VOC-2, MUS-2, SNG-1, MISC-1

ALBUM RATING-8

 

TRACKS

  1. Natural Disaster
  2. Burn For You
  3. The Kingdom
  4. Just Surrender
  5. Heart And Flesh
  6. I Have Decided
  7. All I Want Is You
  8. Innocence (And Other Things Lost)
  9. Speak Now Jesus
  10. Light Of The World

 

 

Leave a Reply

