Jettblack – Raining Rock


Released on August 7, 2012 by Spinefarm Records




Another entry in the “80’s Hard Rock Revival Show”, although this time from merry old England rather than Scandanavia. The direct result: a firmer grasp of English and a slightly better feel for the roots of the music (positives), a dialing back on attitude and/or willingness to completely induldge in all-things 80’s (negative). Translation: the sound is a throwback without being an out-n-out homage. In fact, at times I hear them tredding right up to the line that fellow English mates The Darkness jumped right over before taking a step or two back, which may be their biggest downfall as I’m almost afraid they’re taking it all a little too seriously (in delivery, not subject matter).


Jettblack is fronted by vocalists/guitarists Will Stapleton and Jon Dow, and if they’re sharing lead vocal duties it’s a fine line that separates one from the other (it didn’t occur to me while listening that there was more than one). Sometimes I hear Tony Harnell (TNT & others) and sometimes I hear Danny Bowes (Thunder) (or Neville McDonald of Skin if you want to dive REALLY deep into 90’s British hard rock). I like the production here although I could use a bit more bass, with the guitars really driving the songs without burrying the drums. Plus these guys can write some catchy choruses as this thing is littered with rock anthems. It’s a really satisfying album for me, although it’s lacking something to push it into that upper echelon of rock albums that I just can’t stop playing. Not sure what exactly, but I’ve been hard pressed to explain it before, so why should this be any different? Look for a guest vocal appearance from Accept’s Udo Dirkschneider on the alternate version of “Raining Rock” that closes out the album (and man is HE ever a little out of place here).


PRO-1, VOC-1, MUS-2, SNG-1, MISC-2




  1. Intro
  2. Raining Rock
  3. Less Torque, More Thrust
  4. Prison Of Love
  5. System
  6. Black Gold
  7. Something About This Girl
  8. Sunshine
  9. Temptation
  10. Never Gonna Give It Up
  11. Inbetween Lovers
  12. Side Of The Road
  13. The Sweet And The Brave
  14. Raining Rock (feat. Udo Dirkschneider)



Will Stapleton – Vocals, Guitar

Jon Dow – Vocals, Guitar

Tom Wright – Bass

Matt Oliver – Drums




Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s