Crazy Lixx – Riot Avenue



Released on April 24, 2012 by Frontiers Records


It’s still kind of mind-boggling to me that in the last 5 years or so Sweden has apparently turned into the Sunset Strip circa 1989. That country has pumped out an inhuman number of bands all churning out a variation of that 80’s L.A. sound. Crazy Lixx are one such band, and with Riot Avenue (album #3) they have really nailed it. The guitars have some real snarl to them and vocalist Danny Rexon has a great (if not necessarily distinctive) set of pipes that gives you the sleaze while avoiding a lot of the shouty whine that so many of the genre fall into. The songs aren’t great (this type of music doesn’t lend itself to lyrical poetry), but they grow on you. And the guitars carry the day. The sound makes me think of the first Skid Row album, with some really great anthemic & dirty hard rock. Albums like this are not gonna change the world, but they’re gonna make it more fun, and more often than not that’s what I’m looking for from my music. (Bonus point for the fantastic cover art)


PRO-2, VOC-1, MUS-2, SNG-1, MISC-2




  1. Whiskey Tango Foxtrot
  2. Young Blood
  3. Riot Avenue
  4. Fire It Up
  5. Downtown
  6. In The Night
  7. Church Of Rock
  8. Heatseeker
  9. Sweet, Bad & Beautiful
  10. Be Gone
  11. Only The Dead Know



Danny Rexon (V), Andy Dawson (G), Edd Liam (G), Loke Rivano (B), Joey Cirera (D)


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s