Party Animals – Light A Fan Cool

lightafancool

PARTY ANIMALS – LIGHT A COOL FAN

Released on May 6, 2014 by Street Symphonies

 
Right out of the shoot I’m tempted to give this a 0 for production just because it sounds barely a step above demo quality, but I’ll be nice (actually, no I won’t). Otherwise it’s another in a long line of female fronted gutter rock bands blasting out attitude and crunch with nothing to really justify its existence. I mean, I like the guitars well enough, but the vocalist is so generic that I can’t really tell if I like or don’t like her voice. She’s giving it her all, but there isn’t much variety, not that the songs offer a lot of room for experimentation. Plus, being Italians, their grasp of English isn’t always super great (see the album title for exhibit A) and Andreina tends to mumble a lot. There were times I thought she might actually be singing in Italian because her diction is so rough. Essentially I listen and hear nothing more than a garage band with a tight sound. It’s weird, on the one hand I love that groups like this are still bubbling up and trying to make a go of it playing this kind of basic, good time rock n’ metal, and the fact that a label actually signed them says something, but at some point you have to bring a little something extra to the table to warrant further exposure. I don’t hear it with the Party Animals.

 
Featured track: “Light A Fan Cool

 
PRO-0, VOC-1, MUS-1, SNG-0, MSC-1     TOTAL-3

 

Leave a Reply

