15 Guitarists

Swiped from my friend Armen, since I’m a sucker for lists like this.

The rules: Don’t take too long to think about it. Fifteen guitarists that will always stick with you. List the first fifteen you can recall in no more than fifteen minutes. Tag fifteen friends, including me, because I’m interested in seeing what guitarists my friends choose. (To do this, go to your Notes tab on your profile page, paste rules in a new note, cast your fifteen picks, and tag people in the note — in the ‘tag’ line.)

* * * * *

In the order that they popped into my head…

Mark Knopfler
John Petrucci
David Gilmour
Joe Satriani
Neal Schon
Kenny Wayne Shepherd
Adrian Smith
Warren DeMartini
Jimi Hendrix
Michael Schenker
Ian Moore
Eddie Van Halen
Scott Gorham
Tony Iommi
Chris DeGarmo

Wow. That was agonizing. I’m quite certain if I took the time to really think about it more than half that list would change.

Sadly, coming up with 15 friends who I know are into music enough to be able to pull this list together (should they even try) has been harder. I either need to get better friends (kidding) or I need to start talking music more often.

Leave a Reply

